From simple AZERTY Falcon project to custom ARM bus master - advice needed please

Problems with your machine in general.
foft

From simple AZERTY Falcon project to custom ARM bus master - advice needed please

Post by foft »

Hi,

I'm new to Exxos. I posted a quick intro here: https://exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5280

I bought myself a project Falcon a few months ago on ebay. I knew it was broken and thought I'd have a go at fixing it. So far progress is middling. I have had a number of breakthroughs but I could use more experienced opinions and info from electronically minded users who can test on a real Falcon.

So, firstly a summary of what happened so far:
* Case smashed in shipping. Fixed, reasonably well, with Acetone.
* Opened up, clearly contains an upgrade - CenTurbo 1 Evolution 3b. Changes all the clocks.
* PSU tested ok on scope with load resistors from Exxos store.
* PSU recapped using kit from Exxos store (Which was perfect, except it was missing one resistor!). PSU still tests ok after!
* RAM module was installed off by one, so moved that to the right place!
* Replaced a broken switch on the CenTurbo 1
* 4 pins were missing on VIDEL. 3 appear NC. The 4th is Ext clock in. I soldered this on to the remaining metal stub.
* Powered on. No CPU clock. I was pleased, since this should be an easy fix! I traced it to a bad GAL16V8 on CenTurbo 1 evolution 3b, clock goes in, does not come out.
* Reprogrammed/replaced GAL. Clock now present and switching works. Was confused at it being 8MHz for a while until I realised the Falcon powers on like that! Machine does not boot though or output anything with diagnostic cart.
* Got CPU on logic analyser using EXT pins. Did not do anything after coming out of reset. No attempted start to a bus cycle (I think, now I wonder - read on).