Storing screen data in ASM code ?

News,announcements,programming,fixes,game patches & discussions.

Moderator: troed

Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23488
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Storing screen data in ASM code ?

Post by exxos »

Rather than load a picture from file to screen, does anyone know how to load this into a ASM routine as DATA and copy it to the screen ?

I can do this in basic,but it takes 8 seconds to poke a single pixel line to screen :(
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
thorsten.otto
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 2:20 am

Re: Storing screen data in ASM code ?

Post by thorsten.otto »

Most assemblers have an INCBIN directive or similar. With this, you can include any binary file into the executable. From there, just copy it to screen.

Alternatively, you can write a simple tool that spits out "dc.b" directives, and include that.
User avatar
stephen_usher
Posts: 5578
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Storing screen data in ASM code ?

Post by stephen_usher »

You mean something a like:

Code: Select all

		LEA #DATA_START, A0
		LEA #SCR_START, A1
		MOVE.L #SCR_SIZE_IN_LONGS, D0
Loop:		MOVE.L (A0)+,(A1)+
		DBNE D0, Loop
I'm trying to remember my M68K assembler from a long time ago.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.
User avatar
thorsten.otto
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 2:20 am

Re: Storing screen data in ASM code ?

Post by thorsten.otto »

Oh, almost forgot, there is also a nice tutorial made by Vincent,
Post Reply

Return to “SOFTWARE PROGRAMMING & DISCUSSION”