Filament for the first print and 3d printer calibration

The place to discuss & share your 3D models or printable parts!
Kieran Stephenson

Filament for the first print and 3d printer calibration

Post by Kieran Stephenson »

Hello everyone,

I've got my MAKERBOT Replicator+ 3 delivered yesterday and unpacked it, gonna try to make my first print and see how it goes.

VOrIlug.png
VOrIlug.png (68.09 KiB) Viewed 1488 times

Not sure which filament to choose for this model - PLA (3DJAKE ecoPLA) or ABS (Zortrax Z-ABS). Any advice? I'm a newbie in 3d printing and I don't expect it to work at all at first.
Learning all my life
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Filament for the first print and 3d printer calibration

Post by exxos »

PLA is supposed to be easier for getting started with.

I started with ABS because I enjoy pain :lol:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Hmmm, for overall strength pf the part I'd probably go with ABS, but if you don't care and just want to print it to try it out, then I'd go wit PLA.

However, if you're calibrating and doing a first print, I'd probably aim for a simpler object. My printer came with a calibration object to use.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...