TF1230 Design Complete

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4500
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:44 pm

There is a fundamental design limit with everything TF330 onwards (TF330, TF536, TF360, TF1260, Tf4060) that assumes that the CPU can do roughly 40Mhz+.. if it cant then it won't work the way the whole thing is designed.... so given that i figured no need for 5V on 060... so the way things have evolved have basically ignored the 040..

I have absolutely no interest in 040. Its a terrible processor and none of my more modern boards will work with it.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

Lemaru
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:28 pm

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by Lemaru » Fri May 21, 2021 9:52 am

How is progress on this one coming along? I know Chucky was waiting on boards, but everything seems to have gone quiet.

Hopefully no news is good news.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4500
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Fri May 21, 2021 5:23 pm

The board is with me but house move happened.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

Lemaru
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:28 pm

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by Lemaru » Fri May 21, 2021 8:47 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Fri May 21, 2021 5:23 pm
The board is with me but house move happened.
Ah ok, no prob. I'll keep my eyes peeled for any updates. Good luck with the house move.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4500
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Sun May 23, 2021 11:02 pm

I managed to scrape 30 mins to get some work done on this today. I have it booting but it only gives 12.8 sysinfo score. no burst mode yet.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm
Location: Greystones

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by kulamario » Sun May 23, 2021 11:17 pm

Very good 👍
Better like ACA1233N
How much RAM you planning install on this card ?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4500
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Sun May 23, 2021 11:34 pm

kulamario wrote:
Sun May 23, 2021 11:17 pm
Very good 👍
Better like ACA1233N
How much RAM you planning install on this card ?
The prototypes have 64Mb. 128Mb should be possible but really.. that can come later.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

snifferman
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:57 am

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by snifferman » Sun May 23, 2021 11:37 pm

Here is ACA1233 (red version) with CPU clocked at 50Mhz and FPU clocked at 66Mhz just for comparison

** removed.. it showed 21 x an A600 **

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4500
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Mon May 24, 2021 12:00 am

I've removed the image because there is a high chance people will misread that as the TF1230 performance. Then come shouting about false advertising and i cant be bothered with the hassle.

The TF1230 will not get near the ACA1233. Nor do i want spend the effort on it to. Its a cheap low end card for WHDLoad people.

I've never pretended my stuff was as good as Jen's. But IMHO Price is more important to Amiga people than Performance. Thats why my stuff sells.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

snifferman
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:57 am

Re: TF1230 Design Complete

Post by snifferman » Mon May 24, 2021 2:02 am

I gave ACA1233@50Mhz sysinfo picture (11,98 Mips) because there is no official version of that card clocked at 50 Mhz and people just like to compare.

Once i tested overclocked TF536@60Mhz(11.95Mips) for around 240h (LW renders). Due to timings i had IDE access problems. Render itself without IDE was running fine many days.

Real 68030 50Mhz is the biggest problem today.

I was not a big fan of CPU emulation, but I`m slowly looking in this direction.

I`m pleased to see your projects are going forward, but since I have a son (now is clear why I`m writing this at night), less time is left for my own toys. Maybe some day :)

Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”