JezC H4 Build - in slow time

Topic for users to share their building progress.
JezC

JezC H4 Build - in slow time

Post by JezC »

Well, after finally despairing about the non-arrival of the assembled H4 boards, I finally gave in and asked exxos to ship me my bare H4 board (with some ST cases) so that I could start the slow process of building that one up...mostly in the vain hope that this might actually result in the assembled H4 making an appearance :roll:

Expectation is to finish it before Christmas (but as a s/w engineer by profession I'm not going to commit to which one that might be... :lol: )

Now that the competition for the user builds is over (and I can't win the booby prize!) I feel safe to make a start with the build's (lack of) progress :D

Having realised that the cost of buying all the necessary components is beyond my budget unless I happen to win the €110,000,000 lottery (especially after already feeding Harry a few times in the past few weeks :shock: ), my first step will have to be to nominate a donor board & salvage as many parts from it as I can.

I have 3 or 4 likely candidates (a couple which don't boot to the desktop but do show the white screen plus a couple of others which don't even get that far) but I think step 1 is to get a decent de-soldering tool ordered so that I stand a reasonable chance of not destroying all the chips and the PCB.

@rubber_jonnie which model Duratool have you gone for? I've seen the 80w model (D00672) at CPC for under £90 which might be an option...

Anyway, I will try and make updates when I actually get any worthwhile progress with this epic journey.
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: JezC H4 Build - in slow time

Post by exxos »

JezC wrote: Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:28 pm Expectation is to finish it before Christmas (but as a s/w engineer by profession I'm not going to commit to which one that might be... :lol: )
:lolbig: :bravo:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS